Patagonia Health EHR Version 5 2015 Edition ONC Certification

Patagonia Health’s EHR version 5 is 2015 Edition ONC HIT Certified compliant under the Drummond Group’s Electronic Health Records Office of the National Coordinator Authorized Certification Body program.

What does this mean for you?

  • Promoting Interoperability 2015 Edition places an emphasis on improving interoperability and patients’ access to health information.
  • Patagonia Health implementation makes it easy for providers to achieve the next level of compliance without any changes in their regular workflow.
  • Connections with other providers using Direct Messaging, Health Information Exchange and CCDA exchange on a patient portal are readily available. Clinical Quality Measures (CQMs) are automatically tracked.
  • Patagonia Health EHR Classification Type is fully certified to meet 100 percent of general criteria and all required clinical quality criteria. To verify certification status click here. To learn more, click here.
  • Certification verifies the EHR software adheres to the privacy and security HIPAA laws and can work with other systems to share information.

An Overview of Meaningful Use
In 2009, the HITECH Act, part of the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act, made $17 billion of funding available for financial incentive payments for the “meaningful use” of EHRs by eligible providers, eligible hospitals and critical access hospitals (CAHs) who participate in Medicare and Medicaid. In order to meet Meaningful Use (MU) requirements, these providers are required to demonstrate that they are using their EHR technology in a significant way, both quantitatively and qualitatively, and that this impact can be proved by meeting a number of set objectives.
For a department or practice to receive federal EHR incentives, the following are major considerations:

  • The EHR system must meet Meaningful Use/Promoting Interoperability requirements (EHR vendor’s responsibility).
    To be eligible for incentives, a provider must use an Electronic Health Record software that meets federal requirements for ARRA-defined Meaningful Use/Promoting Interoperability. Each eligible provider attesting for Modified Stage 2 must comply with 10 objectives and 6 clinical quality measures. Each provider attesting for Stage 3 must comply with 8 objectives and 9 clinical quality measures. Patagonia Health EHR meets 100% of these requirements and is certified for receiving EHR incentives.
  • The EHR must be federally certified (EHR vendor responsibility).
    The EHR must be certified by a federally Authorized Testing & Certification Body (ATCB). Patagonia Health’s complete EHR version 5 has been certified for 2015 Edition by the Drummond Group (an ATCB) for eligible providers to receive EHR incentives.
  • An EHR must be in use by each eligible provider.
    Federal agencies want to encourage the use of an EHR, not just a purchase! Each eligible provider is required to use the EHR to perform certain functions like electronic prescriptions, viewing lab results, etc. Patagonia Health EHR has removed the complexity of federal compliance for provider practices and agencies by incorporating all the requirements into normal provider workflows. In addition, Patagonia Health EHR provides an easy to use reports for practices and agencies to track their progress towards required compliance.

Patagonia Health’s team is knowledgeable and is committed to working with their customers to make sure practices qualify and receive their due incentives.

CMS oversees the Medicare EHR Incentive Program, and the state Medicaid agencies manage the Medicaid EHR Incentive Program. While the two programs are similar, there are some key differences between them. The tabs below give an overview of each program. Additional Patagonia Health video tutorials and webcasts on federal compliance can be found in the Resources section, our video library and additional resources are also listed below.

Medicaid EHR Incentive Program

  • Run by Your State Medicaid Agency
  • Program runs from 2011 through 2021
  • Maximum incentive amount is $63,750
  • Payments over 6 years, do not have to be consecutive
  • No payment adjustments for providers who are only eligible for the Medicaid program
  • In the first year, providers can receive an incentive payment for adopting, implementing or upgrading EHR technology. Providers must demonstrate Meaningful Use in the remaining years to receive incentive payments.
  • An “eligible professional” is defined as:
    1. A doctor of medicine or osteopathy
    2. A doctor of dental surgery or medicine
    3. A certified nurse-midwife
    4. A nurse practitioner
    5. Physician Assistants practicing in an FQHC or RHC that is so led by a physician assistant

To qualify for participation, the Eligible Professional must also meet one of the following criteria:

  • Have a minimum 30% Medicaid patient volume*
  • Have a minimum of 20% Medicaid patient volume, and be a pediatrician*
  • Practice predominantly in a Federally Qualified Health Center (FQHC) or Rural Health Clinic (RHC) and have a minimum of 30% patient volume attributable to needy individuals

Medicaid Patient Volume Requirements: 30% of patients seen in a 90-day period in the previous calendar year should be Medicaid enrollees.

*Children’s Health Insurance Program (CHIP) patients do not count toward the Medicaid patient volume criteria.

Drummond Group Certification

This Health IT module(s) is 2015 Edition compliant and has been certified by an ONC-ACB in accordance with the applicable certification criteria adopted by the Secretary of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. This certification does not represent an endorsement by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. Drummond Group is accredited by ANSI and approved by ONC for the ONC Health IT Certification Program to certify: Health IT Module(s) and Certification of other types of Health IT for which the Secretary has adopted certification criteria under Subpart C of 45 CFR.

Modules Tested: 170.315 (a)(1-14); (b)(1-6); (c)(1-3); (d)(1-9, 11); (e)(1-3); (f)(1,2); (g)(2-9)

Clinical Quality Measures tested: 2v6; 68v6; 69v5; 117v5; 122v5; 124v5; 128v5; 130v5; 134v5; 138v5; 146v5; 159v5; 161v5; 164v5; 165v5; 177v5

Additional software used: NewCropRx

Download Certificate

Any additional types of costs that an EP, EH, or CAH would pay to implement the Complete EHR’s capabilities in order to attempt to meet Meaningful Use objectives and measures. EHR technology self-developers are excluded from this requirement.


Certification Criteria

View 2015 Edition Costs and Limitations

Additional Meaningful Use Resources